Baking · cookies

Healthy Oatmeal Peanut butter Cookies

I’ve been trying to kick sugar the last few weeks to help not only lose weight, but also to improve my everyday healthy lifestyle.

There’s only one major problem with this masterplan of mine – I love sweets. I have a self professed sweet tooth that has existed all my life. You could call me a sugarholic. If you put me in a room with every sweet and baked good known to man and told me I’d get $10,000 if I did touch, taste or eat a single thing in the room for 24hours, I would miserably fail. I would likely love every minute of it, but yes, I would miserably fail.

fullsizerender

So when the craving for cookies started up a few nights ago, I began a search for healthy cookies. I know you’re thinking “doesn’t a healthy cookie defeat the purpose of a cookie?”. I’m trying to compromise, okay?

What I found upon my Pinterest and Google searches for healthy oatmeal peanut butter cookies, were a lot of cookies that still contained white flour, sugar, chocolate and other things that are typically not seen on a list of “healthy” ingredients.

So how then, did I curb my cookie craving? I made my own recipe.

img_2231

While they were not sweet, what they were was chewy, peanut buttery and the right texture to satisfy the craving.


Recipe: 
3/4 Quick Oats (gluten-free optional)
1/2 medium banana
4 tbsp natural smooth peanut butter
1/2 tbsp maple syrup (2-3 tbsp more if you want your cookies sweet)
1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1 tbsp ground flaxseed
2.5 tbsp warm water

Optional: Chocolate chips (semi-sweet or dark), dried fruit of your choice, more peanut butter, what ever will help you curb your own craving.

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside
2. In a small bowl, mix together ground flaxseed and water. Let sit for a few minutes. It should become gelatinous within a few minutes. This will become our ‘flax egg’ – a great vegan alternative to egg when you need a binder in a recipe.
3. Mash banana.
4: Add all ingredients into a bowl and combine until you have a dough.
5. Roll into small balls and place on baking sheet.
6. Cook for 11-13 minutes until golden on the outside but soft on the inside.

Serves 5-8 depending on cookie size

Nutrition Per Serving for 7 cookies.

Serving Size: 1 Cookie

Calories: 111, Fat: 6.2g, Carbs: 10.7g, Sugars: 2.5g, Fibre: 1.9g, Protein: 3.7g,

 

Leave a Reply

